Under Configure->Settings->Logging, the various modules each have eight levels of logging. The help provided under the ? is not the clearest in defining the various levels, but seems to say the order, from the most to least logging, is: All <- Trace <- Debug <- Info <- Warn <- Error <- Fatal <- Off

What is generally the "normal" or recommended level? Info?

Are there some modules folks have found that should be set at a different level than the "normal" level?

Thanks, Jason

asked 09 Jun '14, 15:43

JasonBlue's gravatar image

accept rate: 0%

These are the available Log Levels and their meaning:

FATAL:The FATAL level designates very severe error events that will presumably lead the application to abort.

ERROR:The ERROR level designates error events that might still allow the application to continue running.

WARN:The WARN level designates potentially harmful situations.

INFO:The INFO level designates informational messages that highlight the progress of the application at coarse-grained level.

DEBUG:The DEBUG Level designates fine-grained informational events that are most useful to debug an application.

TRACE:The TRACE Level designates finer-grained informational events than the DEBUG

ALL:The ALL has the lowest possible rank and is intended to turn on all logging.

OFF: Turn off logging

In Development environments, you should set the logging level to Debug. However, in production environments I recommend setting this to Error for all modules.

There is a global setting in log4j.properties found under <tomcat_home>/WEB-INF/classes. This setting is inherited by all securonix modules.

log4j.rootLogger=DEBUG, file

Now, when you change individual values from the User interface, the following rule is followed:

The module will inherit the logging level for the root logger and will apply the following rule:

The module will log an entry if and only if the level of log is higher then or equal to the level of the root logger. This means that if the value for root logger is

log4j.rootLogger=ERROR, file

then the module will log only if it has a log set to log at the value of FATAL.

This is the hierarchy followed: DEBUG < INFO < WARN < ERROR < FATAL


answered 22 Jul '14, 01:01

tgulati's gravatar image

tgulati ♦♦
accept rate: 14%

Your answer
toggle preview

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here



Answers and Comments

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or _italic_
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "Title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "Title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported



Asked: 09 Jun '14, 15:43

Seen: 901 times

Last updated: 22 Jul '14, 01:01